Organisation Structure

Res Artis is an international Non-Governmental (NGO) and Non-profit organisation (NPO), registered as a foundation in the Netherlands.

We are governed by the volunteer efforts of our Board as well as our Staff working in our office in Melbourne, Australia.




Eliza Roberts – Executive Director – is the inaugural Executive Director of Res  Artis focused on fundraising, public profile and strategy for the organisation. Eliza served on the Res Artis Board of Directors from 2012 to 2016. Prior, Eliza worked as Arts Residencies Manager at Asialink. Eliza has worked at a range of local and international institutions and organisations including Christie’s auction house in London, The Ian Potter Museum of Art & Artbank. Eliza holds a MA Art Curatorship and BA Creative Arts, both from the University of Melbourne.



Carolin Casey – Membership Manager – looks after all membership matters for Res Artis and is based in the Melbourne office. She is experienced in arts administration, project and events coordination and customer facing roles within the education, government and private sectors in Australia, New Zealand and Canada. She previously held roles at international arts and cultural exchange organisation, Asialink Arts, and membership-based organisation, ArtsHub. Carolin obtained a Master of Fine Arts from Elam School of Fine Art, University of Auckland and Bachelor of Visual Arts, AUT University, as well as a conjoint Bachelor of Laws and Arts (Maori Studies) from the University of Auckland. 


A fair-skinned woman with medium length dark hair standing in front of a brick wall

Josephine Mead – Communication & Administration Officer – assists in the development and delivery of our Communications Strategy, representing Res Artis’ mission and values, from our Melbourne office.  Josephine is a visual artist, writer and arts-worker, residing on Wurundjeri woi-wurrung Country. She has undertaken residency programs in rural Victoria, Mexico, Turkey, Portugal and Germany and has exhibited widely. She co-founded Co- Publishing with Christine McFetridge and is Chair of Artistic Directors for Blindside Gallery. Josephine previously worked at the Australian Tapestry Workshop in communications and front of house support. 




Kai Latvalehto – Project Manager at KulttuuriKauppila Art Centre – holds a PhD from Åbo Akademi (2018) and a MA in English from Oulu University (1995) in Finland. In the past he has worked extensively within music, education and documentary film. In recent years he has his concentrated on Sweden-Finnishness and his latest undertaking was establishing a residency for the Sweden-Finnish Cultural Embassy in Oulu.

Kai’s work with Res Artis forms a partnership between Res Artis and the municipality of Ii, northern Finland. This innovative collaboration is supported by the KRIPA project funded by the European Unions Rural Development Programme for Mainland Finland coordinated by the Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment

Board of Directors

Res Artis Board Members are charged with the legal and financial responsibility of the organisation, as outlined by the Res Artis Articles of Association governed by Dutch Law. Members of the Board are elected after receiving an advisory vote of the Res Artis membership. The terms are 2-years and may be renewed for up to three consecutive terms for a total of 8 years. Board Meetings are held every two months via Skype. Furthermore, the Res Artis Board and staff convene for a strategy meeting every five years. The complete summary of the board position can be read in the Position Description Res Artis Board Members.

The Res Artis Board comprises four Officer positions:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer


Lea O’Loughlin – President (United Kingdom) – is the Co-Director of Acme Studios in London. Holding an MA in Contemporary Art from Sotheby’s Institute of Art London and BA of Visual Arts from the University of South Australia, her previous experience includes working with The Royal British Society of Sculptors, The Florence Trust, Tate, Gasworks, Cubitt Artists (United Kingdom), MoMA (United States) and Adelaide Central Gallery & Studios (Australia).


Frederik Hardvendel – Vice-President (Denmark), who has background as a graphic designer, is Director of the Danish Art Workshops. He has been managing creative enterprises in Denmark and abroad and has been Head of Design of the Danish Broadcasting Corporation. Frederik has been Chairman at the International Ceramic Research Centre and in the Steering Committee for interdisciplinary leadership in the Ministry of Culture. He has recently joined the board of Art Hub Copenhagen


Luigi Galimberti – Board Member (Italy) was director of Transnational Dialogues, an exchange from 2012 to 2016. Luigi holds a BA in sociology from the London School of Economics and a MA in management for the arts and culture from IULM University. He has more than 7 years of experience working as a project manager in the cultural sector, and was awarded the Chartered Manager status by the Chartered Management Institute (UK) in March 2017. Luigi is currently Collection Care Research Manager at Tate in London.


Clymene Christoforou – Board Member(United Kingdom) is the director of D6:Culture in Transit. Clymene is Chair of International Newcastle, a partnership between civil society, the municipality and the universities to promote internationalism across the City. Further afield she is an expert advisor to United Cities and Local Governments and Culture Action Europe’s Pilot Cities program. With the British Council and the Creative Europe team in Ukraine, she’s an advisor to the Culture Bridges program.


Mella Jaarsma – Board Member (Netherlands/Indonesia) studied visual art at Minerva Academy in Groningen (1978-1984) and studied at the Art Institute of Jakarta (1984) & at the Indonesian Institute of the Arts in Yogyakarta (1985-1986). In 1988, Mella co-founded Cemeti Institute for Art & Society with Nindityo Adipurnomo, the first space for contemporary art in Indonesia. As an artist, Mella Jaarsma has become known for her complex costume installations, and her works have been presented widely in exhibitions and art events in Indonesia and abroad.


Honorary Board Members

  • Tatsuhiko Murata (Japan)
  • Karol Frühauf (Switzerland/Slovakia)
  • Maria Tuerlings (the Netherlands)
  • Rudolf Brünger (Germany)
  • Clayton Campbell (USA)
  • Michael Haerdter (Germany)
  • O.P. Jain (India)
  • Laurens Schumacher (the Netherlands)
  • Mario A. Caro (United States)
  • Leena Vuotovesi (Finland)
  • Jean-Baptiste Joly (Germany/France)